Good News on Two Fronts

While reviewing my contract today I realized that I will be receiving my full salary for the month even though I will not start until the middle of August. I called the college just to make sure and they confirmed it.

This is great because now we can get off to a running start instead of a slow crawl…

The college also confirmed that they received my signed contract so now all I have to do is show up at the faculty orientation next week.

On the Jiu-jitsu side of things; I took all of my paperwork for starting the club up to the recreation center. They are pretty thorough. They notarized my application for a background check, went over the list of obligations for an instructor and I talked about a number of issues with the coordinator and her assistant about what I would be teaching. Although I have to pay a deposit for the building fee of $25, I don’t have to pay the building rental fee until the 10th of September. This will give me a chance to collect fees so I don’t have to pay out of pocket.

The people at the center are very helpful and listed a number of ways they could help by doing things like posting my fliers, creating a PSA to send through email, contacting friends they have in the police department to ask about self-defense potential (I don’t know if I want to go that far), etc. The coordinator stated that a lot of people have been calling and asking for Jiu jitsu. That’s good news, but I may have just created a monster.

I scheduled the classes for Mondays and Thursdays from 6:00 P.M. to 7:30 P.M., starting on the 3rd of September.

2 responses to “Good News on Two Fronts

  1. Wow, good luck with the BJJ club!!

    With all the BJJ blogs out there – mostly training blogs and several BJJ school blogs – it’s refreshing to see a new perspective in the BJJ blogosphere: starting a club!!

    Hope you do well and I look forward to reading your future posts

  2. newjackprofessor

    Thanks!

    It is a new experience for me and I ‘m a little nervous about it. But, I think it will be fine.

Leave a Reply

