Orientation Coming Soon/Jiu Jitsu Night

Next Monday is faculty orientation week at SCG. I am still calm but don’t really know what to expect. I have the schedule of events but I don’t know how I will feel. I’ve been keeping abreast of the classes that I will be teaching online and four or five classes has turned into six. As you can guess from the number it is not a research college and the emphasis is on teaching. I am used to teaching two and at the most three classes  a semester coming from Big State University, which is a research institution, so this will be an enormous stretch. However, I was warned of the teaching load before I came. I should have gotten the 4 or 5 class statement in writing because I feel slightly duped with the 6th class. I guess that’s why we don’t teach any classes on Friday.

I still haven’t received word on the syllabi, books for my class or my office. I figure I will take care of that on Monday and now I know for sure that I will be scrambling to put together a syllabus and familiarize myself with the texts. I am thouroughly familiar with the topics so I am not too concerned.

On the flipside, I ventured to a nearby city, about 12 miles away, to go to a grappling class. Although the area was slightly ‘country,’ the center was professional looking, spacious and the people were friendly. It is a family owned establishment and two of the owner’s sons were present for training. A little girl was also taking part in the lessons and another guy was present who I later found out was their instructor for grappling.

I had an excellent time since I hadn’t grappled for months since I left Big State U. city. I played it cool since I was visiting someone else’s dojo and I just worked for position and didn’t try to tap or throw anyone, I would just pull them down. Although they made me tap out one guy when they saw that I had him in a rear naked choke but was about to let go. I obliged.  The same guy tapped me to a wierd leg arm bar later on. When he was going for the move it looked so obscure to me that I followed it to the conclusion, which ended in me tapping. The instructor was a pretty big guy so I exerted myself more than I wanted to when I sparred with him, but it was informative. I need to work on rebuilding my endurance and flexibility. But at least I know that I should be able to run the club at the recreation center with no problem.  In total, I sparred about 6 – 3 minute rounds.

2 responses to “Orientation Coming Soon/Jiu Jitsu Night

  1. Sounds like you’re settling in.

    I applaud your initiative! Moving to a new town, starting a new job and all of the stress that goes along with these things would’ve been enough for me. I don’t think I would have the energy to start a new BJJ club on top of all of that! Those kids are lucky to have you around.

    Good luck.

  2. newjackprofessor

    Thanks!
    Yeah, we are pretty settled at this point.

    I will tell you that I don’t know if I will have the energy, but I have a passion for Jiu jitsu. I feel 10 times better after I do it, even when I am a little battered and sore after a workout. That is what will keep me going.

Leave a Reply

