First Day Wackiness

The department chair who hired me (or who strongly recommended me being hired), talked up the college and who I dealt with for most of the summer quit and left for another institution. I just found out this morning. No wonder he didn’t answer my email from 2 weeks ago. I thought he didn’t answer because they didn’t have the things I needed ready. I was wrong.

So we have a new department chair and she seems very nice but the environment has changed. I found out that the office that I was told that I was going to get has been given to someone else (something about seniority). I know these changes have a lot to do with the previous chair’s departure and everyone jockeying for position. They still don’t have my office keys ready but I was told not to worry it would be taken care of soon (classes start next Tuesday).

Cool, I am going to keep my head low and keep working toward my goals. But I am taking note. Everyone I met seemed very personable and friendly. I think I’ll be alright.

We spent the entire morning listening to short presentations and learning about the various departments. They fed us lunch and then we spent the afternoon filling out paperwork. I finally have my books for the classes I will teach and some examples of their syllabi. I have a lot of work to do in a little bit of time.

One excellent perk is that I don’t have to pay for parking. In every other university I have either attended or worked at parking for faculty and staff ranged from $180 to $300+ for the year.

Tomorrow is Day 2….

Leave a Reply

