This Corn is Great!

This weekend my parents and my nieces and nephews visted us from Florida. My nephews (ages 8 and 10) were hungry (as always) so I fixed them some corn on the cob as a snack. Common food, easily prepared. But they loved it. They raved on and on about how good it was. They asked  me what I did to it. The youngest said, “This corn is great!”  The oldest said I was a good uncle. I kid you not.

Now if I could only get my students to feel that way about my lectures.

We had a good time with my parents and family coming to visit us and they could see that we are well adjusted in our new city. The kids were non-stop dynamos from the time they hit the door until they left and I believe I expended more energy in those two days than I usually expend in one week. I took them to the park, went swimming, played numerous games and taught them some science experiments.  My wife seemed like she was holding an arts and crafts workshop and I found out that my nephew (10 years old) can play lacrosse. I have some junior sticks and he could catch the ball from about 20 ft away. Nice….. He says they play lacrosse at his school and they have a game scheduled Monday.

Leave a Reply

