Presentations, Tests and Grading Disappointment

For the past two weeks I have been listening to presentations, proctoring exams and grading papers. About 350 total grades combined. I can’t delay in the grading because I have another round of group projects due next week and I can’t afford to get behind.

I was disappointed with the students presentations and even more with their tests. I actually had to lecture each class about their level of committment, where they were headed and how to take advantage of their college experience. I also realized that the students level of preparation, drive and expectations are much lower than where I have taught before (Big State University). Next semester I am going to have to spend a few class sessions bringing them up to speed on how to successfully navigate my course and college before I dive into the coursework.

I must admit that this is not what I expected and I have been investigating other options…

Leave a Reply

