Back in the saddle again…Jiu Jitsu

Well, things were back to normal today. It felt as if I never left. We worked on escapes from the mount and breaking down the turtle defense. What fascinates me is that our lead instructor always seems to present something new. I received good training before when I trained in Florida but this is at a totally different level.

Oh yeah…

I was rolling with a guy in class and as anyone who has grappled knows, there’s a certain etiquette that’s followed. Well in our first scramble his foot hit my head and then we stopped and he apologized. That set the tone.  The we sparred for a few more seconds and as fate would have it our heads bumped together when we both decided to go for a takedown (we were both kneeling) at the same time. I stopped for a brief moment to assess his damages and to see if he was okay. In that brief second or millisecond, he jumped onto my back and I spent the next two minutes fighting off a rear naked choke. I wasn’t upset but I think our signals were crossed. I don’t think he meant anything by it but I wonder why he thought I paused and would open myself up for him to jump on my back?

One response to “Back in the saddle again…Jiu Jitsu

  1. I’ve had that happen, too. At least you got some good work on RNC defense. 🙂

    From time to time, someone will have something they want to work, or I’ll have something. It’s usually nothing overly specific along the lines of, “Hey, I have a few things I’d like to work. Mind if I start from guard?”

    Usually, this is not an issue. So, one time I really wanted to get some work on the bottom and asked if I could start from guard and he said no problem. As I pulled guard, he jumped into side control, then north/south and on from there. Same sort of thing… I wasn’t mad, but I was thinking, “Sheesh. This isn’t quite what I had in mind.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

