“Ya’ll are BullSh$tting, Let Me In!”

In class today I had a group of students giving their last round of presentations. When students are giving presentations I have a rule that if you come late, you cannot enter class until you hear the applause. So about 20 minutes into the presentation I hear a loud, “Ya’ll are BullSh$tting, Let me In!”

It was so loud I thought the person who said it was in the room. The group presenting stopped and looked around.

I asked the class, “Who said that?”

Everyone shook their heads.  I told the girl nearest the door to open it up. When she opened the door she asked the two standing outside (a male and female), “He wants to know who said that?” The guy, who obviously said it muttered, “I didn’t say anything.” I just told him, “—–, See me after class.” When I left the class (we also had professor evaluations today/more on that later) I said, “Come, walk with me.”

As we walked down the hall, I said, “I know what you said. It was so loud that I thought it was inside the room.” He immediately became apologetic and stated that he didn’t think that we could hear it and that he said it for the benefit of the girl that was standing out there with him. I said okay, but let him know he wouldn’t be allowed to return to class today and that he could return next week only if he apologizes to the class first. He apologized to me again and said he would apologize to the class on Monday…..

I am torn on whether or not I should have interrupted the presentation, but at the same time he went too far…

Also: As I was walking down the hall later a student stopped me and said, “Yeah, that was really loud.”

Leave a Reply

